Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


The Institute for Nuclear Security is a campus-wide organized research unit situated within the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy. ORNL, Y-12, and ORAU are charter members. The institute’s members are in a unique position to solve crucial problems in global nuclear security. Collectively, members bring together close organizational ties, geographic co-location, and access to working nuclear facilities—including reactors, accelerators, hot cells, and special nuclear materials, all engaged in nationally and globally relevant work.

University of Tennessee

The University of Tennessee is a land-grant, public research university. Founded in 1794, the Knoxville campus is the flagship institution of the statewide UT system, with nine undergraduate colleges and eleven graduate colleges. The university has an enrollment of almost 28,000 students, representing all fifty states and more than 100 countries.

Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy

The Baker Center is a nonpartisan institute devoted to education and research concerning public policy and civic engagement. Through classes, public lectures, research, and student initiatives, the center aims to provide policy makers, citizens, scholars, and students with the information and skills necessary to work effectively within the political system and to serve local, state, national, and global communities. The focus is on three main areas: Energy and Environment, Global Security, and Leadership and Governance.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

ORNL is a multiprogram science and technology laboratory managed for the US Department of Energy by UT-Battelle LLC. ORNL’s mission is to deliver scientific discoveries and technical breakthroughs that will accelerate the development and deployment of solutions in clean energy and global security and, in doing so, create economic opportunity for the nation. ORNL also performs other work for the Department of Energy, including isotope production, information management, and technical program management, and provides research and technical assistance to other organizations.

Y-12 National Security Complex

Y-12 is one of four production facilities in the National Nuclear Security Administration’s Nuclear Security Enterprise. Its unique emphasis is the processing and storage of uranium and development of technologies associated with those activities. Three focus areas of the complex are nuclear technology and materials, security and consequence management, and manufacturing and technical services.

Oak Ridge Associated Universities

ORAU is a 105-member consortium of American and British universities headquartered in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. ORAU’s mission is to bring together university faculty and students to collaborate on major scientific initiatives that help keep America on the leading edge of science and technology and to leverage the collective capabilities of the university consortium by partnering with other national laboratories, government agencies, and private industry.